Kaufax, Velkoff Elected to Top FCPS Board Spots

fcps logoThe Fairfax County School Board has elected Tamara Derenak Kaufax (Lee District) as chairman and Ted Velkoff (at-large) as vice chair for a one-year term, the school system announced.

Denerak Koufax replaces Ilryong Moon, who has served as chair the last two years.  The chair and vice chair were elected by School Board members and assumed office at the July 10 School Board meeting.

Derenak Kaufax has served on the School Board since January 2012; she served as vice chair in 2013-14 and has served as chair of the School Board’s Public Engagement Committee as well as chair of the Ad Hoc Streamline and Focus Committee in 2013.

Velkoff, who has served on the School Board since January 2012, was chair of the School Board Budget Committee for the FY 2015 budget and vice chair for the FY 2014 budget.  He is a former Chantilly High School PTSA president and treasurer; he also served as PTA treasurer at Rocky Run Middle School and Poplar Tree Elementary School.

Other school board members (who will serve through 2015): Sandy Evans (Mason District), Pat Hynes (Hunter Mill District), Ryan McElveen (at-large), Megan McLaughlin (Braddock District), Ilryong Moon (at-large), Patty Reed (Providence District), Elizabeth Schultz (Springfield District), Kathy Smith (Sully District), Dan Storck (Mount Vernon District), and Janie Strauss (Dranesville District).

Recent Stories

Carrabba’s Italian Grill has officially shuttered in Reston after more than two decades of business. A sign on the door of the chain restaurant at 12192 Sunset Hills Road thanks…

A notice of eviction (via Allan Vega on Unsplash) Eviction cases continue to rise in Fairfax County as the millions of dollars in financial and legal support allocated during the…

The Tephra Institute of Contemporary Art is gearing up for its next art exhibition in Reston Town Center. Scheduled for March 16-May 19, the exhibit, titled “Pressing,” features work by…

Morning Notes

Cars travel northbound along I-495 toward D.C. (staff photo by James Jarvis) GMU’s Sports Stadium Proposal Questioned — “Students and neighbors of George Mason University are rallying in opposition to a…


Subscribe to our mailing list